Monday, July 27, 2009
It's Monday and That Means Beer (when you're at the beach)


So, I'm trying Sierra Nevada Summerfest. Maybe this is good beer, but not for a hot North Carolina beach in July. I just don't expect my hot weather beers to be quite so hoppy. And I like me some hops. But if I'm outside, covered with sand and salt air, I don't choose and IPA, I want something refreshing. Yeah, you are probably thinking "tasteless", but in a way, that's right. Something less rich for summer. So, I'm not ashamed to say, tomorrow, it's Corona and lime.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, January 16, 2009
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


Here are some basic flow charts showing the differences between man and woman and their approach to alcoholic beverages. Good stuff. Safe even for work.

Workflow Charts Finally Put to Good Use Show Fundamental Men vs Women Differences

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, October 03, 2008
It's Friday and that means...scotch?


White Horse Scotch Whisky:
A fine matured blend containing at its heart the unique flavor of Lagavulin, a single malt whisky from the Islay in the Hebrides. It is this individuality, the quality of its ingredients and the care with which it is made that make White Horse a fine old Scotch Whisky of rare and enjoyable Distinction.

Our "Republican" President just nationalized the housing industry and, in all likelihood, our next President is a dangerously underqualified socialist with a cult of personality that rivals old Joe Stalin's and ties to unrepentent domestic terrorists.

I need more than beer these days.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, September 05, 2008
It's Friday and that Means Beer!


Some signs indicate that the race may be turning, if not yet reflected in the polling.

Not only did Sarah Palin's speech draw more viewers than Joe Biden's, but over 10 million people, now John McCain has higher ratings than Barack Obama did in his mega super outdoor stadium tour speech.

But the McCain/Obama numbers are from the people-metered overnight ratings from Nielsen. What part of the country do we get flash, overnight ratings? Typically, large urban areas. The deep blue pockets of liberal voters. What will the ratings look like when we have the data from the suburban anc rural Republican strongholds?

In other news, my lovely wife of 1 week less than 10 years pointed out an article in the Times of London. Worth a read. Money quote:
The best line I heard about Sarah Palin during the frenzied orgy of chauvinist condescension and gutter-crawling journalistic intrusion that greeted her nomination for vice-president a week ago came from a correspondent who knows a thing or two about Alaska.

“What's the difference between Sarah Palin and Barack Obama?”

“One is a well turned-out, good-looking, and let's be honest, pretty sexy piece of eye-candy.

“The other kills her own food.”
So have a beer. I bet Sarah Palin will be enjoying some real beer, while I can see Mr. Obama sipping an Amstel.

Labels: , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, August 29, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


Freeware Devil presents, Anagram Fun!

Decipher these Anagrams

Media Nabob
Clam in Panic
Las Piranha
Barmaid Enters. Poof!
Rev Obama in Mecca. Left, red nondrinker. Real Men Drink Beer and Vote For McCain)

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, August 08, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer



CNN just ran an article on Schlitz beer. Evidently, at several times during its history, it was the best selling beer in the U.S. Although I've never had any, I love the clever advertising! Its Friday! Drink up!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Thursday, July 10, 2008
It's Thursday and That Means BEER!


The Bhagavad Gita says that one must do his duty. My duty is to post this George Will classic.

Survival of the Sudsiest


By George Will

Like many sensible citizens, you read Investor's Business Daily for its sturdy common sense in defending free markets and other rational arrangements. If so, you too may have been startled recently by an astonishing statement on that newspaper's front page. It was in a report on the intention of the world's second-largest brewer, Belgium's InBev, to buy control of the third-largest, Anheuser-Busch, for $46.3 billion. The story asserted: "The [alcoholic beverage] industry's continued growth, however slight, has been a surprise to those who figured that when the economy turned south, consumers would cut back on nonessential items like beer."

"Non wh at"? Do not try to peddle that proposition in the bleachers or at the beaches in July. It is closer to the truth to say: No beer, no civilization.

The development of civilization depended on urbanization, which depended on beer. To understand why, consult Steven Johnson's marvelous 2006 book, "The Ghost Map: The Story of London's Most Terrifying Epidemic — and How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World." It is a great scientific detective story about how a horrific cholera outbreak was traced to a particular neighborhood pump for drinking water. And Johnson begins a mind-opening excursion into a related topic this way:

"The search for unpolluted drinking water is as old as civilization itself. As soon as there were mass human settlements, waterborne diseases like dysentery became a crucial population bottleneck. For much of human history, the solution to this chronic public-health issue was not purifying the water supply. The solution was to drink alcohol."

Often the most pure fluid available was alcohol — in beer and, later, wine — which has antibacterial properties. Sure, alcohol has its hazards, but as Johnson breezily observes, "Dying of cirrhosis of the liver in your forties was better than dying of dysentery in your twenties." Besides, alcohol, although it is a poison, and an addictive one, became, especially in beer, a driver of a species-strengthening selection process.

Johnson notes that historians interested in genetics believe that the roughly simultaneous emergence of urban living and the manufacturing of alcohol set the stage for a survival-of-the-fittest sorting-out among the people who abandoned the hunter-gatherer lifestyle and, literally and figuratively speaking, went to town.

To avoid dangerous water, people had to drink large quantities of, say, beer. But to digest that beer, individuals needed a genetic advantage that not everyone had — what Johnson describes as the body's ability to respond to the intake of alcohol by increasing the production of particular enzymes called alcohol dehydrogenases. This ability is controlled by certain genes on chromosome four in human DNA, genes not evenly distributed to everyone. Those who lacked this trait could not, as the saying goes, "hold their liquor." So, many died early and childless, either of alcohol's toxicity or from waterborne diseases.

The gene pools of human settlements became progressively dominated by the survivors — by those genetically disposed to, well, drink beer. "Most of the world's population today," Johnson writes, "is made up of descendants of those early beer drinkers, and we have largely inherited their genetic tolerance for alcohol."

Johnson suggests, not unreasonably, that this explains why certain of the world's population groups, such as Native Americans and Australian Aborigines, have had disproportionately high levels of alcoholism: These groups never endured the cruel culling of the genetically unfortunate that town dwellers endured. If so, the high alcoholism rates among Native Americans are not, or at least not entirely, ascribable to the humiliations and deprivations of the reservation system. Rather, the explanation is that not enough of their ancestors lived in towns.

But that is a potential stew of racial or ethnic sensitivities that we need not stir in this correction of Investor's Business Daily. Suffice it to say that the good news is really good: Beer is a health food. And you do not need to buy it from those wan, unhealthy-looking people who, peering disapprovingly at you through rimless Trotsky-style spectacles, seem to run all the health food stores.

So let there be no more loose talk — especially not now, with summer arriving — about beer not being essential. Benjamin Franklin was, as usual, on to something when he said, "Beer is living proof that G-d loves us and wants us to be happy." Or, less judgmentally, and for secular people who favor a wall of separation between church and tavern, beer is evidence that nature wants us to be.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, July 04, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer!



Happy 4th of July!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 27, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer


I'm not a big fan of Guiness, and I hate squirrels. This little guy just makes me want to head home today, bust out some Corona and throw stones at the little tree-rats that infest my yard!

It's finally Friday. Cheers!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Thursday, June 26, 2008
It's WAS Thursday...well...actually last Sunday and it means beer too






Summertime...beach...steak...beer.


This brought to you by Sams and Harris Teeter for the steaks and most importantly Samuel Adams Summer Brew. Em is johnny on the spot...

I posted this Thursday in preperation...but drafted and posted another one after this. It kept the pecking order and put this w/ Thursday. So ya...I screwed up.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 20, 2008
Its Friday and That Means Beer!



Ok. This is the last time I'll bring up the beer veto gaffe. I promise!
Cheers!!!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Tuesday, June 10, 2008
He must be stopped!


He will veto every single beer!

Labels: , , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 06, 2008
It's Friday and that Means Beer!


That's all I've got.

Cheers.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, May 30, 2008
It's Friday and That Means ... Space Beer


TOKYO, Japan (AP) -- Japanese beer-lovers can anticipate an out-of-this-world brew: suds made with barley descended from grains that traveled in outer space.

An Okayama University graduate student holds the latest crop of "space barley."

The "space beer," to be test-brewed by Sapporo Breweries Ltd., will come in a pilot edition of 100 bottles to be ready in November, company spokeswoman Momoko Matsumura said.

The beer will be made with barley, to be harvested this weekend, descended from seeds that spent five months in 2006 aboard the international space station.

"We're really looking forward to tasting it when it's ready," Matsumura said.

The barley project started when Sapporo teamed up with Okayama University biologists working with the Russian space team.

The team took 0.9 ounce of barley into space for storage inside the space station from April to September 2006.

The project is part of biological studies of the adaptability of plants to environmental changes and the impact from stresses such as space travel.

Sapporo planted 0.14 ounce of the barley grains that returned from space at its research farm northeast of Tokyo in March 2007.

An AP Article on CNN.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, May 23, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


And lots of it. Just wish I had some Labatt's Blue. For some reason, you can learn to love such beer in the American heartland. Dad drank Canadian Club too (with Diet Coke). Maybe I need to consider this whole Canadian thing . . .

Thanks to all.

In short . . .


Worst.
Week.
Ever.

Drink up ladies and gentlemen. And be thankful!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, April 25, 2008
It's Friday and that means Beer!



I went out with my family the other night and my father and I ordered a couple beers from the menu. Out of the great selection of perhaps 40 beers on the list, I picked some local beer,Red Oak, on tap... my dad selected a bottle of Michelob? WTF? Granted, I haven't had one in many years... but really? Why pick the Michelob? Are they any good?

Incidentally, while trying to find a good pic for this post I ran into a pretty cool beer site: Lemark Beer Bottle Collection. Appears to be a personal collection of beer. Massive in size. Not too many American beers, perhaps the guy is from Europe. Nice site though.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 28, 2008
Al Gore Says He's Smarter Than You


Self-avowed "P.R. agent for the planet" Al Gore says those who still doubt that global warming is caused by man - among them, Vice President Dick Cheney - are acting like the fringe groups who think the 1969 moon landing never really happened, or who once believed the world is flat. Confronted by Stahl with the fact some prominent people, including the nation’s vice president, are not convinced that global warming is man-made, Gore responds: "You're talking about Dick Cheney. I think that those people are in such a tiny, tiny minority now with their point of view, they’re almost like the ones who still believe that the moon landing was staged in a movie lot in Arizona and those who believe the world is flat,” says Gore. "That demeans them a little bit, but it's not that far off," he tells Stahl.

Most believers of global warming think that the warming will lead to droughts, stronger hurricanes, more tornadoes, and erratic and destructive weather behavior and patterns that will cause havoc for humans. IPCC says it will lead to a 'very large loss of life'. But something in all of this just doesn't make sense. Right now, our technology of forecasting weather is so primitive that we cannot accurately forecast weather beyond one week, if that. It is impossible for humans to even accurately predict weather for one year. So how then can scientists who support global warming accurately predict weather 50-100 years down the road?

Consider that over your Friday beer.

Labels: , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 21, 2008
Bitter...



The Clinton News Network, bitter about their canidate not receiving an endorsement from Richardson, dug up this fine photo of the Governor... in which he appears to be suffering from about about 5 beers too many. Perhaps that is the network's suggestion... it takes 5 beers to many in order to endorse Obama.

I suspect that Axelrod (what a name!) has been holding this endorsement back for just the "Wright" occasion. Got to break that negative news cycle somehow.

Labels: , , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


It's Friday and that means Beer...


Got beer problems. Troubleshoot them:

SYMPTOM: Beer unusually pale and tasteless.
FAULT: Glass empty.
ACTION: Get someone to buy you another beer.

SYMPTOM: Feet cold and wet.
FAULT: Glass being held at incorrect angle.
ACTION: Rotate glass so that open end points toward ceiling.

SYMPTOM: Feet warm and wet.
FAULT: Improper bladder control.
ACTION: Stand next to nearest dog, complain about house training.

SYMPTOM: Beer tasteless, front of your shirt is wet.
FAULT: Mouth not open, or glass applied to wrong part of face.
ACTION: Retire to restroom, practice in mirror.

SYMPTOM: Your singing sounds distorted.
FAULT: The beer is too weak.
ACTION: Have more beer until your voice improves.

SYMPTOM: Opposite wall covered with fluorescent lights.
FAULT: You have fallen over backward.
ACTION: Have yourself leashed to bar.

SYMPTOM: Mouth contains cigarette butts.
FAULT: You have fallen forward.
ACTION: See above.

SYMPTOM: Floor blurred.
FAULT: You are looking through bottom of empty glass.
ACTION: Get someone to buy you another beer.

SYMPTOM: Everyone looks up to you and smiles.
FAULT: You are dancing on the table.
ACTION: Fall on somebody cushy-looking.

SYMPTOM: Don't remember the words to the song.
FAULT: Beer is just right.
ACTION: Play air guitar.

SYMPTOM: Beer is crystal-clear.
FAULT: It's water. Somebody is trying to sober you up.
ACTION: Punch him.

SYMPTOM: Hands hurt, nose hurts, mind unusually clear.
FAULT: You have been in a fight.
ACTION: Apologize to everyone you see, just in case it was them.

SYMPTOM: Don't recognize anyone, don't recognize the room you're in.
FAULT: You've wandered into the wrong party.
ACTION: See if they have free beer.

SYMPTOM: Room seems unusually dark.
FAULT: Bar has closed.
ACTION: Confirm home address with bartender.

SYMPTOM: Floor moving.
FAULT: You are being carried out.
ACTION: Find out if you are being taken to another bar.

SYMPTOM: Taxi suddenly takes on colorful aspect and textures.
FAULT: Beer consumption has exceeded personal limitations.
ACTION: Cover mouth.

Drink up!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 14, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer...


Alcoa Savings Plan

This speaks the truth when it comes to financial planning. Take note and follow!
If you had purchased $1000.00 of Nortel stock one year ago, it would now be worth:

$49.00.

-------------------------

With Enron, you would have had:

$16.50

left of the original $1,000.00.

-------------------------

With WorldCom, you would have had less than:

$5.00 left.

-------------------------

But, if you had purchased $1,000.00 worth of Beer one year ago, drank all the beer, then turned in the cans for the aluminum recycling REFUND, you would have had:

$214.00.

-------------------------

Based on the above, current investment advice is to drink heavily and recycle.
It's called the 401 Keg Plan

Cheers! Drink up!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 07, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer... in Raleigh


The Mrs. & I are getting out of town Saturday to take in a little culture down at the “Smithsonian of the South”. As a significan number of readers live in the RDU area, I am soliciting recomendations for Restaurants and Beer. Cheers!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, February 29, 2008
It's Friday, And That Means Beer!


Today's theme......beer confessions.

I confess that even though my regular/favorite pub, The Bier Garden, has almost 400 beer on hand, I still order Konig-Ludwig Hefe more than 90% of the time. (Note the selection to the Top 50 Places to drink beer in the US by Beer Advocate. #42. How many in your state made the list?)

I confess that after those all-to-rare occasions that I work out, I can be found later at Applebee's sucking down $1.50/mug Budweiser.

I confess that Portsmouth's (VA) brewpub, the Alt Platz, f**cking sucks.

Your beer confessions are hereby solicited......

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, February 22, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


And beer is something I hope Hillary drank alot of last night after that miserable showing in the Democrat debate. In fact, I hope she wakes up with a big hangover and realizes that she's finished.

As for Obama, this country is in for a big hangover if he gets elected. Here are a few laughers:

#1

BROWN: Senator Obama, just to follow up, you had said in a previous CNN debate that you would meet with the leaders of Cuban, Iran, North Korea, among others, so presumably you would be willing to meet with the new leader of Cuba.

OBAMA: That's correct. Now, keep in mind that the starting point for our policy in Cuba should be the liberty of the Cuban people. And I think we recognize that that liberty has not existed throughout the Castro regime. And we now have an opportunity to potentially change the relationship between the United States and Cuba after over half a century.I would meet without preconditions, although Senator Clinton is right that there has to be preparation. It is very important for us to make sure that there was an agenda, and on that agenda was human rights, releasing of political prisoners, opening up the press. And that preparation might take some time. But I do think that it's important for the United States not just to talk to its friends, but also to talk to its enemies. In fact, that's where diplomacy makes the biggest difference.

Talking to the enemy did a lot of good leading up to WW2.

#2

OBAMA: Well, first of all, let me emphasize the point that you just made, which is: You don't need an economist or the Federal Reserve to tell the American people that the economy's in trouble, because they've been experiencing it for years now. Everywhere you go, you meet people who are working harder for less, wages and incomes have flatlined, people are seeing escalating costs of everything from health care to gas at the pump.And so people have been struggling for a long time. In some communities, they have been struggling for decades now. So this has to be a priority of the next president.Now, what I've said is that we have to restore a sense of fairness and balance to our economy, and that means a couple of things.Number one, with our tax code: We've got to stop giving tax breaks to companies that are shipping jobs overseas and invest those tax breaks in companies that are investing here in the United States of America.We have to end the Bush tax cuts to the wealthy...... and to provide tax breaks to middle-class Americans and working Americans who need them.

The economy has been in trouble for years? Obama must have been reading the Wall Street Journal in John Edwards' America.


#3

OBAMA: The second thing is, we have to improve our relationship with Mexico and work with the Mexican government so that their economy is producing jobs on that side of the border.

We're going to help Mexico create jobs? Is this guy serious?!

#4

BROWN: We have time for just one final question, and we thought we would sort of end on a more philosophical question. You've both spent a lot of time talking about leadership, about who's ready and who has the right judgment to lead if elected president.A leader's judgment is most tested at times of crisis. I'm wondering if both of you will describe what was the moment that tested you the most, that moment of crisis.

BROWN: Senator Obama?

OBAMA: Well, you know, I wouldn't point to a single moment. But what I look at is the trajectory of my life because, you know, I was raised by a single mom. My father left when I was two, and I was raised by my mother and my grandparents.And, you know, there were rocky periods during my youth, when I made mistakes and was off course. And what was most important, in my life, was learning to take responsibility for my own actions, learning to take responsibility for not only my own actions but how I can bring people together to actually have an impact on the world.And so, working as a community organizer on the streets of Chicago, with ordinary people, bringing them together and organizing them to provide jobs and health care, economic security to people who didn't have it, then working as a civil rights attorney and rejecting the jobs on Wall Street to fight for those who were being discriminated against on the job -- that cumulative experience, I think, is the judgment that I now bring.

He was raised by a single mom, did some work on the streets of Chicago, and got through a rocky period in his youth. That is what prepared him and provided him with judgment to handle a crisis? Waaaa haaaa haaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That's a good one.

Here's a toast to you, Mr. Obama, for single-handedly convincing a large group of Americans that you are qualified for the Presidency.

DRINK UP!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Wednesday, February 13, 2008
I Need a Beer


Winston needs a Wii, I need a beer.

Thank you. We now return you to your regular programming.

Oh, and if you want to know why Roger Clemens will end up in prison for perjury, just read the blog for the media circus they call a 'Congressional hearing.'

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, February 01, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer!



Just think, after Tuesday, it could be McCain vs. Clinton. With McCain's voting record, rumors of abandoning the Republican Party in 2000, and wanting to team with Kerry in 2004, it could be the first presidential race where the Republican party is actually not going to be represented by anyone. For people who believe in a small Federal government, more individual rights, lower taxes, stronger defense, less spending, etc., it's going to take a few (thousand) beers to stomach a McCain vs. Clinton race. If you're not into beer, try some Southern Comfort. And if you want the best Guinness in Raleigh, try out the new Landmark Tavern in downtown Raleigh.

A woman in a hot air balloon realized she was lost. She lowered her altitude and spotted a man in a boat below. She shouted to him, "Excuse me, can you help me? I promised a friend I would meet him; an hour go, but I don't know where I am."

The man consulted his portable GPS and replied, "You're in a hot air balloon, approximately 30 feet above ground elevation of 2,346 feet above sea level. You are at 31 degrees, 14.97 minutes north latitude and 100 degrees 49.09 minutes west longitude."

She rolled her eyes and said, "You must be a Republican." "I am," replied the man. "How did you know?" "Well," answered the balloonist, "everything you told me is technically correct, but I have no idea what to do with your information, and I'm still lost. Frankly, you've not been much help to me."

The man smiled and; responded, "You must be a Democrat." "I am," replied the balloonist. "How did you know?" "Well," said the man, "You don't know where you are or where you're going. You've risen to where you are due to a large quantity of hot air. You made a promise that you have no idea how to keep, and you expect me to solve your problem. You're in exactly the same position you were in before we met, but now, somehow, it's my fault."

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Saturday, January 19, 2008
ICE BOWL II





Tomorrow's forecast in Green Bay is 3 degrees with a wind chill of up to -35 degrees.

In the original
Ice Bowl, The official game-time temperature was -13F, with a wind chill around -48F. Using the new wind chill index put into use in 2001 the wind chill was -36F. So -35 vs. -36? Damn that's cold!

Bart Starr won the game with a sneak from the 1 yard line with 16 seconds to go. I hope this game is as good.

A question. If you had tickets, would you go to this game? I know I would.

I'll be just as happy watching it in a warm room with a cold beer.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, January 18, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Bear ... in Finland



This is a Finish beer called Karhu (bear in Finish). It is the most popular brand of beer in the country. Karhu is pale lager with a strong taste. After a long day of touring Helsinki and combatting Jet-lag, it was the perfect beer to wash down some Turkish chicken kabobs.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, January 11, 2008
It's Friday and That Means Beer... In Finland



Last Friday I was sipping on some Finish beer while on vacation in Finland. Lapin Kulta is made in Lapland, the norther area of Finland... where Santa Claus lives. Nothing extraordinary about it, but it was good, cold, and tasty. Went quite well with some Reindeer steaks. Yum!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Thursday, January 03, 2008
2008 Predictions


Here's what will happen in 2008.

Politics: Barack Obama will squeak by Hillary and win the Democrat nomination. Mitt Romney will on the Republican side. Romney will then beat Obama in the general election, but it will be a close race. The Democrats retain Congress.

Economy: Nothing much. We will not slide into a recession but growth will not be as solid as the past few years.

Iraq: We will start to see some progress on the political front. A slow, steady troop withdrawal will begin late in the year.

Iran: Barrels ahead with uranium enrichment. Nobody will do a damn thing about it. Ahmadinejad will talk about destroying Israel at least 25-30 times over the course of the year.

Pakistan: Another high-profile politician will be assasinated. Musharraf perhaps? The country begins to fall apart and the jihadi's begin to assume more power.

Jolie-Pitt: Brad knocks Angie up one more time. They adopt two more kids.

Geek: The Dark Knight is labeled the best super-hero movie of all time.

Sports: Patriots finish their undefeated season with a Super Bowl victory. The Detriot Red Wings win another Stanley Cup. Roger Federer wins two more slams to tie Pete Sampras with 14 grand slam title victories. The Carolina Tar Heels win the NCAA basketball title.

John Edwards: After losing the nomination, he will partner with Paul Mitchell to open the high-end Breck Girl Salon in New York City. It will be a hit and will be franchised in every major city around the world. Edwards begins his quest to earn another 28 million dollars.

The War on Terror: Bin Laden commits suicide as U.S. forces close in. Bush leaves office having completed that mission. We lose some ground in the fight against terror as Pakistan becomes more unstable. U.S. politicians focus on Iran and continue to ignore Pakistan's threat to the United States.

Winston: After having ten beers with a few other Federal Review readers, Winston loses hope in the current state of the human species and decides to take matters into his own hands. He decides to populate the Earth with as many conservative, beer chugging little-Winstons as possible and goes for baby number four!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Saturday, December 22, 2007
It's Saturday and That Means Beer!



May these find their way into the beds, er, I mean, stockings of every brother here at Federal Review. Have a great Holiday! Merry Christmas! Cheers!!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, December 21, 2007
It's Friday...and that means beer.


Have a good holiday season. Here's a good christmas song to get you in the spirit. Compliments of Achmed the dead terrorist. Hoping Jeff brings some Carolina Brewery in...hint hint.

Getting old sucks...and having bad genes sucks. Looks like no more late night FPS gaming and slugging down beer after beer with online comrades for me for much longer. Got ye ole physical done this week...cholesterol a whopping 260 total...LDL 189/HDL 59. Dangit. Curse you genes...curse you. So it's looking like nightly Zocor pills in my future....and regular liver checks. Double dangit.

Enough Debbie downer crap. Drink up and be merry! I did end up having zero beer in the house the other night and settled for a nice glass of milk with a bit of Kahlua poured in.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, December 07, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


Long time no beer post - from me. Couldn't find anything that really interested me at the store the other day, so I defaulted to a Sam Adams varietal. It was so good, that I picked up a second six pack a couple of days later.

In other words, I have to highly recommend that Sam Adams Winter Lager. Here's some text from a review at Beer Advocate, with my commentary:
A - red/amber color with a short lived beigey colored head, very little lace.
That's true, but don't really know what it has to do with the taste.
S - some spicy aroma.
Yes, some. The bottle says something about ginger and citrus. I don't know if you definitely get those hints of flavor, but you get something that is pleasant, understated and smooth.
T - pleasant and refreshing beer, a malty/spiced flavor.
But not overly spiced. Really just a pleasant hint. If you don't like spiced beers, no worries. This is still awesome.
M - lighter medium body, lower carbonation.
True, but still plenty of taste. Very well balanced beer.
D - it's an easy drinking beer, good seasonal.
Very easy drinking. Shoulda gotten 12.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Saturday, December 01, 2007
I guess this explains the missing Beer Friday post.


DUBLIN, Ireland - Irish police were hunting for a beer bandit who stole 450 full kegs from the Guinness brewery — the largest heist ever at Ireland's largest brewer.

National police said a lone man drove into the brewery — a Dublin landmark and top tourist attraction — on Wednesday and hitched his truck to a fully loaded trailer awaiting delivery to city pubs
.

I'm no detective, but it's a pretty safe bet that police will find the missing Stout on Trinity College's fraternity row, as SAE brothers wash down their bangers & mash with pint after pint of illgotten Guiness.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Saturday, November 24, 2007

Wednesday, November 21, 2007
It's Wednesday and That Means Beer!


"What, no beheading on Thanksgiving? What kind of terrorist are you anyway?"

Ratebeer.com has listed their top 50 beers. Every Federal Review reader should make it a point to try at least one of the beers on this list over the next few days. You can provide your own review on next week's Friday Beer post.

If you're feeling creative on the day before Thanksgiving, beat my caption to the picture above. And if you're cutting out of work early, come join your glorious leader (All hail, Winston!) and I at the Tir Na Nog for some pre-Thanksgiving beers this afternoon.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, November 16, 2007
It's Friday and that Still Means Beer!


I'm enjoying a Magic Hat Jinx, which my lovely and talented wife picked out for me earlier this week. I picked out a Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale, which is just too damn much on the hops/spice. Can't ID what's in it, but I'm sure I need a few Magic Hats before another Celebration. In other words, I just didn't like Sierra Nevada's Celebration Ale - and I should have known it might be a problem when the label touted it as nothing more than a special winter brew, without any description of its flavor or what they were trying to accomplish. But, remember. Bad beer is better than the no beer.

Now, if only I was out enjoying a Guinness with some buddies. Thanks to Martin for sending this ad to me.

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us



Friday, November 09, 2007

Wednesday, October 31, 2007
It's Halloween and That Means Halloween BEER!



Hobgoblin English Ale is marketed as the unofficial beer of Halloween. I first bought a six pack of this beer a few years ago and loved it! Now it's on tap at the Raleigh Times downtown. Check it out while they have it.

Hobgoblin Strong Dark Ale

Hobgoblin is strong in roasted malt with a moderate hoppy bitterness and slight fruity character that lasts through to the end. The ruby red coloured Hobgoblin is full-bodied and has a delicious chocolate toffee malt flavour balanced with a rounded moderate bitterness and an overall fruity character.

ABV: 5.2% in bottle, 5.0% in cask
Bottle: 500ml
Cask: yes
Hops: Fuggles and Styrians
Malts: Pale, Crystal and Chocolate

http://www.hobgoblinbeer.com/

After you have a few pints of Hobgoblin tonight, go home and look into the night sky - you'll see Hillary Clinton flying east towards Washington, D.C. You can't miss her - she has a big broom!

Happy Halloween everyone!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, September 14, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


It looks like Bill Belichick will need a beer after yesterday's ruling by the NFL. People are wondering why a coach with a team that's loaded with players like Brady, Vrabel, Bruschi, Welker, Stallworth, Thomas etc. even tries this signal-stealing stuff. It's because teams seek a competitive advantage any way they can get it.

Does that mean what Billy Boy did was okay? Heck no! What he did to get his team a competitive advantage was a bit overboard.

How can a guy who is considered to be a football 'genius' take the chance of getting caught doing something like this? It's what I call 'arrogant carelessness'. It eventually bites you in the ass every time!

Does that mean that the Patriots would not have won without signal stealing? Ah, now there's a question! People asking this question is the biggest damage Belichick did to his team. I personally doubt that this signal stealing stuff made a huge difference in anything. But now players are whining - see the Steelers comments and now the Eagles.

I'm sorry Eagles people, but your team lost to the Patriots because your QB sucks. That's right, he 'got tired' during a Superbowl..........and he whines like a little girl. No, worse than a little girl.

Having gotten that off my chest, it's time to drink beer between now and football Sunday. Enjoy the games and have a good weekend!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us



Friday, August 31, 2007

Friday, August 17, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer... Magic Beer


A lady walks into a bar and sees a really good-looking guy sitting at
The bar by himself. She goes over and asks him what he is drinking.

"Magic Beer," he says.

She thinks he's a little crazy, so she walks around the bar, but after
Realizing that there is no one else worth talking to, goes back to the
Man sitting at the bar and says, "That isn't really Magic Beer, is it?"

"Yes, I'll show you." He takes a drink of the beer, jumps out the
Window, flies around the building three times and comes back in the
Window.

The lady can't believe it: "I bet you can't do that again."

He takes another drink of beer, jumps out the window, flies around the
Building three times, and comes back in the window.

She is so amazed that she says she wants a
Magic Beer, so the guy says
To the bartender, "Give her one of what I'm having."

She gets her drink, takes a gulp of the beer, jumps out the window,
Plummets 30 stories, breaks every bone in her body, and dies.

The bartender looks up at the guy and says, "You know, Superman, you're
A real asshole when you're drunk."

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, August 10, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer ... with the President



The premise is that, in a U.S. presidential election, the winning candidate will be the one with which you would most likely enjoy sitting down and sharing a few beers.

Set aside all other factors for a moment and just select the two candidates (Pres & VP) which would be the most fun to have over to your house for a few cold ones.

Cheers!

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, July 20, 2007
Yeah, But......It's Friday, and That Means Beer!


So I am going through the usual Ayinger Hefe this evening. Thanks, Winston for the hospitality. You have a great family. And if I may say so, you married better than your wife did. ;)

On my Asheville, NC vacation last week I discovered a really notable Pale Ale.





The Rye is a light touch but rounds off an aggressive hop-malt balance cleanly. An unusually good beer. Not available in my area as far as I can tell. Look for it.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, July 13, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!



Last week, I was preparing for a visit from John and a cooler full of assorted beers (above). They arrived and all were quite good, although I still don't have a taste for Pilsner and it's particular yeast. As for the Lambic, well, let me just say if you are in the mood for a beer, don't get the Lambic. If you've already had quite a few, it's no problem. Otherwise, only get the Lambic if you want a Lambic, because, to me, it's not beer.
Thanks to John for visiting and bringing his kids. Despite his liberal leanings, it turns out that John is quite the good father.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, July 06, 2007
It's Friday and that Means Beer!


I've been rather busy and distracted lately, so it is with great pleasure that I am authoring my first Friday beer post in weeks. Big thanks to Emeriol for picking up my slack over the past month with his fantastic beer posts. His Swear Jar find was so good, I bought some Bud Light just to reward Anheuser Busch for such a hilarious ad. I seldom buy Bud Light, not because I'm a beer snob, mind you. I'm just more inclinced to Michelob Light or Natural Light if my goal is volume. As I always say, bad beer is better than no beer.

And I'm pleased that today, my buddy John is coming to visit with his two boys, who I am excited to finally meet. You know John as the occasional left-of-center poster here at Federal Review - though you can now find him more often in more hospitable climes at Brian's place. I keep telling him, such leftist hyperbole would be welcome here. After all, who enjoys an echo chamber (OK, we do, but not always). And here's a good place to remind Emeriol to keep his politics coming as well. It's refreshing to get all points of view, and I particular like John's and Emeriol's thoughtful politics, as opposed to the nutroots style crazed rantings - and I ask again that all regular readers refrain from the knee jerk attacks when disagreeing.

OK, now, to the beer. John has a much broader base of beer experience than I. I have only been recently trying to find new and interesting beers, but John's way ahead of me in that regard. Fortunately, he's filling the cooler for a bit of a taste testing tonight. Here's what he's bringing:

Weistmalle (Dubbel)
DogFishHead Aprihop IPA (7%)
Brooklyn Brown Ale
Brooklyn IPA
Julius Echter Hefe
Trader Joe's Hefe (brewed by Gordon Biersch)
Lindeman's Framboise Lambic
Pater Leiven (Trippel)
Ayinger Hefe

That sounds like a nice selection. Perhaps I can get past my anti-Lambic disposition and learn to enjoy ales in the heat of the summer. And I'll have Bud Light to clear the palette in between.

Cheers.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 29, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


Need a way to raise money for beer? Start a "Swear Jar" at the office.

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 22, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!




Yuengling Traditional Lager
Brewed in Pottstown, PA, this lager is well... excellent. When my brother was living up in Pittsburg and later Philidelphia, he would always bring back a case. Now you can get it in most states down the East coast. I highly recomend it.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 15, 2007
It''s Friday and That Means Beer!


It's Raining Beer

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, June 01, 2007
It's Friday and that Means Beer!



The ultimate PC mod.

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, May 25, 2007
It's Friday and that Means Beer!


You guys write what you like about beer, but I'm already thinking ahead to next month and my week at the beach. In fact, here's what I will look like.


This South Park Studio is a complete waste of time, and therefore, entirely too entertaining. Please go create yourself and post it here.

Labels: ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


It's Friday and that means Beer!


With the price of gas being so high this week, you may want to save a bit of cash and instead of heading to the Spring Garden Brewery tonight for some Red Oak, just pick up a six-pack of domestic light beer from your local market.

My recomendation: Miller Lite. I wish I could come up with a better way to descibe it, but I'm afraid the marketing team at Miller has perfected it - Great taste, less filling, never watered down.




Cheers!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, May 11, 2007
The Respite Offered by Pub Culture (It's Friday and that still Means Beer!)


Donovan over at A Good Beer Blog muses on the importance and meaning of pub culture, asking the question, Why Do You Drink at a Pub? Go read what he has to say, but in the end, you'll see that going to the Pub is not so much about drinking good beer, bad beer or getting drunk. No, it's about the company.

But what is it about spending time in some smokey pub? Sure, when you become a regular and bartenders start to know you by name and preferred beverage, that is nice. There's a sense of belonging. And the other regulars actually seem pleased to see you.

But the main reason I go is to take a break from both work and family. This isn't to say that spending time at the pub is better than either, because it's the first of the three I'd ever give up. But it gives you something you don't get elsewhere. The opportunity to talk about things other than work, without the need to establish your superior work skills or to measure your words carefully (I'm a lawyer). It also allows you to have an adult (or simply a guy) conversation uninterrupted by your damanding three-year old or requests regarding the location of the new Lightning McQueen toy. Or when you are going to Target again or what's on the Honey-Do list for the weekend. There's still plenty fo time to wax philosophical on the duality of "light Spider-Man" versus "dark Spider-Man" or the appropriate track choice for the year-round school. Just for a couple of hours, its a chance to turn your mind to lighter things.

And the better the pub, the better it offeres a brief respite from the pressures and stresses of responsibility and obligation. Just for a little while.

And the beer's not so bad either.

So, cheers.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


It's Friday and that Means Beer!


First, just because I'm doing a beer post (without beer substance), doesn't mean this has to be the only beer post. Anyway, if Federal Review aspires to solve the world's problems one beer at a time, feel free to up that to two and replace the coffee in the following, which is making the email rounds and is a nice life lesson. It certainly helps put things in context!
The Mayonnaise Jar and 2 Cups of Coffee

When things in your life seem almost too much to handle; when 24 hours in a day are not enough; remember the mayonnaise jar and the 2 cups of coffee...

A professor stood before his philosophy class and had some items in front of him.

When the class began, he wordlessly picked up a very large and empty mayonnaise jar and proceeded to fill it with golf balls.

He then asked the students if the jar was full. They agreed that it was.

The professor then picked up a box of pebbles and poured them into the jar. He shook the jar lightly. The pebbles rolled into the open areas between the golf balls.

He then asked the students again if the jar was full. They agreed it was.

The professor next picked up a box of sand and poured it into the jar. Of course, the sand filled up everything else.

He asked once more if the jar was full. The students responded with an unanimous "yes."

The professor then produced two cups of coffee from under the table and poured the entire contents into the jar, effectively filling the empty space between the sand.

The students laughed.

"Now," said the professor as the laughter subsided, "I want you to recognize that this jar represents your life.

The golf balls are the important things --your family, your children, your health, your friends and your favorite passions--- and if everything else was lost and only they remained; your life would still be full.

The pebbles are the other things that matter; like your job, your house and your car.

The sand is everything else---the small stuff.

"If you put the sand into the jar first," he continued, "there is no room for the pebbles or the golf balls.

The same goes for life.

If you spend all your ti me and energy on the small stuff, you will never have room for the things that are important to you.

"Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness.

Play with your children. Take time to get medical checkups. Take your spouse out to dinner.
Play another 18.

There will always be time to clean the house and fix the disposal.

Take care of the golf balls first --the things that really matter--

Set your priorities. "The rest is just sand."

One of the students raised her hand and inquired what the coffee represented.

The professor smiled. "I'm glad you asked."

"It just goes to show you that no matter how full your life may seem; there's always room for a couple of cups of coffee with a friend."
Thanks to Johnny for sending to me.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, May 04, 2007
It's Friday and that means Beer!


The Goldenrod Pilsner Beer:


I found this one while cruising through beer.trash.net trying to find material for a decent Friday post. I happened upon a beer which had not yet been rated - Goldenrod. Upon further investigation, I learned that it is brewed and sold in Asheville, NC at the French Broad Brewery.

I am sending out a humble challenge to our dear readers to be the first to race to Asheville, taste the beer, rate it at beer.trash.net, and post a review here!

Cheers!

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, April 27, 2007

Friday, April 20, 2007
It's Friday and that means Free Beer!


After reading this news, I am seriously considering moving to Wisconsin. The legislature just passed a bill to allow stores to distribute FREE beer samples. Now that is the type of legislation that is worth paying for. In fact, it occurs to me that I could probably run on a beer sample platform here in NC and clean house come election time.

Read all about it...
MADISON, Wis. Beer lovers of Wisconsin, rejoice! You're a step closer to getting a free half-can of suds.

Both chambers of the legislature unanimously gave key approval this week to allow grocery and liquor stores to distribute beer samples up to 6 ounces to people of legal drinking age.

"It's a good bill. It's a Wisconsin bill. It's a beer bill," said Republican Rep. Scott Newcomer, one of the measure's main sponsors.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, April 13, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


. . . maybe Guinness at the pub (if I can get out of here at a decent time).

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Thursday, April 05, 2007
It's Thursday and That Means Beer!


While enjoying a few cold ones before the long weekend, consider:

The Extraordinarily Naive Mrs. Pelosi. Chick goes to Syria, tells them the Israelis - in a huge policy reversal - are ready to talk peace with the Syrian dictator/thug. She wasn't told any such thing. The effect of her trip? To undermine U.S. foreign policy, but that wasn't enough for her, she had to screw with Israel for good measure. She also illustrated one of the reasons people like Bashir Assad prefer the one-party, dictator state. No partisans going abroad and playing pretend shadow president, screwing things up. Glad to see The Washington Post agrees:
The really striking development here is the attempt by a Democratic congressional leader to substitute her own foreign policy for that of a sitting Republican president. Two weeks ago Ms. Pelosi rammed legislation through the House of Representatives that would strip Mr. Bush of his authority as commander in chief to manage troop movements in Iraq. Now she is attempting to introduce a new Middle East policy that directly conflicts with that of the president. We have found much to criticize in Mr. Bush's military strategy and regional diplomacy. But Ms. Pelosi's attempt to establish a shadow presidency is not only counterproductive, it is foolish.
Not just foolish, but pretty damn ignorant of her surroundings. Welcome to the Big Leagues Nancy. How does it feel to be a petty thug's useful idiot?

Vote Fraud Prosecutions: Overlooked by your broadcast journalists and associated press stringers is the reason that the Bush Administration wanted some of those U.S. attorneys fired. They weren't pursuing vote fraud cases hard enough. The Christian Science Monitor gives a little refresher on vote buying by Democrats.

Watch Your Contributions, Await Recess Appointment: Many complain about the effect of money in politics, but I've always believed that full disclosure is probably the best remedy. So it seems when the president appoints a guy to be Ambassador to Belgium, only to discover the Democrats in the Senate won't confirm him because he wrote a check to the Swift Boat Veterans for Truth. Well, that's the way it should work. The guy gets to be Ambassador anyway, thanks to a recess appointment. I've never liked recess appointments. But I don't know what the alternative is for situations where someone has to be in a position and Congress is not available to consider a nomination. It's even uglier when the appointment is used to get around the will of Congress. I didn't like it when Clinton did it. I don't like it now.

Labels: , , , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 30, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


With things starting to warm up as we enter spring, rich, hearty beers are tempted to give way to lighter fare. Some folks are even inclined to insert some citrus fruit in their beers. So, I picked up some Blue Moon Spring Ale because I didn't really feel like a Corona. The Spring Ale actually has lime and lime zest in it. Not a horrible beer, but it certainly is obvious that you don't have fresh lime. Wish I'd had the Corona.

And then the temperature dropped again, so I enjoyed a couple Eye of Hawk Select Ales. Billed as "complex", I'd simply describe it as rich. Not so rich that it actually tasted sweet. Pretty tasty stuff, not a big head, but a little light on the bitter side for my taste. Nevertheless, I'd say it is worth having again. Don't know about the Blue Moon though.

Last week, while Federal Review was suffering from my lack of foresight, you might have missed Emeriol's wonderful beer post, which has put all of my beer posts to shame, as he actually did some on-site reporting!

Go read Emeriol's Its last Friday and that meant $2 pints!!! Do it now. Then go get your own beer.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 16, 2007
Its last Friday and that meant $2 pints!!!




My wife and I happened to be in Stone Mountain, Georgia last Friday and we came across a little German restaurant called The Village Corner. We love German food and the restaurant looked cute, but what sealed the deal for us was the sign outside advertising $2 pints of draft.

My hope was that they would be selling at least one half decent brew, perhaps some Sam Adams or Newcastle... I was stunned and amazed when the only thing on tap was imported kegs straight from the motherland!


We ordered our beers, wurts, frisken, and crout. The waitress, dressed in a traditional German outfit, brought a stack of food and a chestnut brown Spaten pilsner sporting a two inch frothy head. The brew tasted so good that you didn't want to swallow.

I highly recommend taking a detour the next time you are driving through miserable Atlanta to stop by there and grab some beer and brats.

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 09, 2007
IT'S FRIDAY AND THAT MEANS BEER


Refrigerator will toss you can of beer

This is what we all need on game day. Or any other day for that matter.

I present to you one of the greatest inventions the world has ever seen.

By ESTES THOMPSON, Associated Press Writer
Thu Mar 8, 4:04 PM ET



When John Cornwell graduated from Duke University last year, he landed a job as software engineer in Atlanta but soon found himself longing for his college lifestyle. So the engineering graduate built himself a reminder of life on campus: a refrigerator that can toss a can of beer to his couch with the click of a remote control.

"I conceived it right after I got out," said Cornwell, a May 2006 graduate from Huntington, N.Y. "I missed the college scene. It embodies the college spirit that I didn't want to let go of."

It took the 22-year-old Cornwell about 150 hours and $400 in parts to modify a mini-fridge common to many college dorm rooms into the beer-tossing contraption, which can launch 10 cans of beer from its magazine before needing a reload.

With a click of the remote, fashioned from a car's keyless entry device, a small elevator inside the refrigerator lifts a beer can through a hole and loads it into the fridge's catapult arm. A second click fires the device, tossing the beer up to 20 feet — "far enough to get to the couch," he said.

Is there a foam explosion when the can is opened? Not if the recipient uses "soft hands" to cradle the can when caught, Cornwell said.

In developing his beer catapult, Cornwell said he dented a few walls and came close to accidentally throwing a can through his television. He's since fine-tuned the machine to land a beer where he usually sits at home, on what he called "a right-angle couch system."

For now, the machine throws only cans, although Cornwell has thought about making a version that can throw a bottle. The most beer he has run through the machine was at a party, when he launched a couple of 24-can cases.

"I did launch a lot watching the Super Bowl," he said. "My friends are the reason I built it. I told them about the idea and hyped it so much and I had to go through with it."

A video featuring the device is a hit on the Internet, where more than 600,000 people have watched it at metacafe.com, earning Cornwell more than $3,000 from the Web site.

Cornwell said he has talked to a brewing company about the machine, but right now only one exists. Asked if he might start building some for sale, he said: "I'm keeping that option open, depending on interest."

When Cornwell was a student at Duke — an elite, private university in Durham — he participated in the engineering school's robotic basketball contests, said mechanical engineering Professor Bob Kielb. He said students tried to build a robot that could retrieve a pingpong ball and toss it into a small hoop.

"He always did well in it," Kielb said. "He came up with completely unique ideas."


See it in action HERE

I have GOT to get me one of these!!!!

Labels: , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, March 02, 2007
It’s Friday and that means ... Beer!!!



Root Beer...
While on your way out to the local pub to indulge in a few pints of Red Oak, consider dropping by your local market to pick up a pack of the finest non-alcoholic drink around for your designated driver: Virgil's Root Beer.

Unlike IBC, A&W, or a half dozen other "root beers," Virgil's is a brewed drink consisting of a mix of ingredients you wont find in any other beverage. The first thing you will notice when taking a sip will be the sweetener: unbleached cane sugar as opposed to corn syrup. How is it different? It just is. The next taste you may be able to identify is the wintergreen followed by anise and ginger. The number of natural ingredients is extensive and unmatched by any other drink I have seen. Here is the list:

anise from Spain
licorice from France
vanilla (bourbon) from Madagascar
cinnamon from Ceylon
clove from Indonesia
wintergreen from China
sweet birch from the southern US
molasses from the US
nutmeg from Indonesia
pimento berry oil from Jamaica
balsam oil from Peru
cassia oil from China


Is it really that tasty? In between your 2nd and 3rd pint of Red Oak Lager, bum a sip of Virgils from your driver… good isn't it?

Labels:


|
Post to Del.icio.us


Friday, February 23, 2007
It's Friday and That Means Beer!


First, I want to thank Murali and Hank and John for keeping the Friday beer posts going when I barely had time to get a beer, much less time to post about it. After all, what's more important? Having that Friday beer or talking about having that Friday beer? Surely, if we were politicians, it would be the former.

And I want to thank those who have emailed me directly to inquire about Jack. Turns out, there's a pattern. No posting by Winston, then Jack's having seizures. But that's not the case this time, as the miracle of steroids continues and Jack has been seizure free since January 5.

In any case, enjoy the beer and the weekend. Don't forget to vote above and then click through to see how the "Federal Review Precinct" is voting. I'm shocked to find we have a Biden fan coming around here!

Labels: , ,


|
Post to Del.icio.us